Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
文学老爷们
19 septembre 2007

notes from lunchbreak

Update: Thanks to a commenter, I remembered that I'd updated the version of this post on my main blog, but had completely neglected to update it here.

A random oddity spotted in the classroom yesterday afternoon: A sign on the wall beside the blackboard with the slogan:

教诲如春风

师恩似海深

Ummm.... yeah, can't quite remember it. I wrote it in my notebook which I left in the office. I was going to write this up from the office, but China Unicom wasn't quite being cooperative enough and it was getting too close to lunchtime to bother fighting a dodgy connection. I guess I'll have to check it when I go back to the office this afternoon- and remember it this time. Anyway, under the main slogan was the usual Olympic rubbish: "迎奥运,树新风". I asked my students what they thought of this sign. Nothing. Of course. Anyway, here's what I think:

1: My first reaction was unnecessarily sarcastic (as always): You mean my teaching is bone dry and full of sand like the spring wind? Alright, sorry, I'll work on livening things up. Of course, the slogan is meant to be something about the depth of teachers' kindness and grace, right?

2: Where is the connection between BeiGongDa's teaching and the Olympics? Sure, the Olympic badminton (I think) competition will be held on BeiGongDa's campus, but I can't see the connection between that and the kindness and grace of teachers.

Anyway, there are many such odd signs in the BeiGongDa classrooms. Personally, I'd rather see them all replaced with the "No Cellphones" signs that they used to have here. I'm getting sick and tired of patiently explaining that playing with a cellphone is not appropriate behaviour in a classroom. Nor is sleeping, for that matter.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
A
师恩似海深~~~~~~~~~
文学老爷们
Publicité
Publicité