Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
文学老爷们
29 septembre 2007

Where the bloody hell are you?

So I guess I could do a Micah Sittig and focus on public transport... but I really don't go out that much anymore. My life generally revolves around this apartment, the office and classrooms at BeiGongDa, and the local market. But just for this post...

So getting off the train at Dawang Lu and walking up the stairs to the station lobby, my eye was caught by a huge poster of a person swimming with a whale shark and the words "Well, where the bloody hell are you?" That's right, Australia's latest tourist-attracting advertising campaign has made it into the Beijing subway. Then out of curiosity, I looked to see how the slogan had been translated. "嘿,你怎么还没来了?" it said. Not exactly a translation, more of a paraphrase, but I guess "嘿,你他妈的在哪?" would be considered a bit too much. I mean, that kind of language is only considered harmonious by hard-bitten veteran Beijing cabbies. Pretty cool posters, though.

More rambling of a less linguistic nature can be found here or here.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
文学老爷们
Publicité
Publicité